Cricket-Zampa fails ‘Mankad’ attempt in BBL match

Australian legspinner Adam Zampa found himself in an embarrassing situation on Tuesday when he attempted to outrun Tom Rodgers of the Melbourne Renegades with a ‘Mankad’. The ball was called off during the run-up after seeing it unbailed, and the referee first awarded it as a run-out.

However, the decision was overturned by the third referee, who ruled that Zampa’s arm was “beyond vertical”. The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the administrators of cricket law, later released an explanation of the decision on social media.

“Any non-striker off the ground until the moment the bowler would normally be expected to release the ball could result in an out,” MCC tweeted, along with a video of the attempted dismissal. I mean when the arm reaches the highest point, the bowler *has* no right to go around in the action of bowling and then expel the non-striker.”

Zampa’s Melbourne Stars lost their Big Bash League (BBL) match by 33 runs and Rodgers was named man of the match after taking five wickets. After the game, Rodgers said, “I didn’t think I left too early, so I was very happy that ‘Not Out’ came out.”

Named after former Indian all-rounder Vinu Mankad, the dismissal of “Mankad” is legal, but has long been debated whether it goes against the spirit of the game.

(This article is not edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *