Dominica players to participate in ICC U-19 Women’s Cricket World Cup


Dominican players join ICC U-19 Women’s Cricket World Cup in South Africa

Roseau, Dominica: Abini St Jean and Earnisha Fontaine all representing the Dominican Republic in the West Indies, representing the women’s under-19 team at the inaugural ICC of the Women’s Under-10 Cricket World Cup in South Africa intend to do something.

On Friday, the Ministry of Culture, Youth, Sports and Community Development held a send-off party for Abini Saint-Jean and Aanisha Fontaine. The ceremony was held at the Billy Doctorobe Pavilion at Windsor Park Stadium.


The two young women have been selected for the West Indies under-19 women’s team to participate in the inaugural ICC of the Women’s Under-19 Cricket World Cup in South Africa.

Oscar George, the minister in charge of sports, encouraged the young cricketers and wished them success on the tour. PS Blackmoor, Sports Coordinator Trevor Shillingford and Dominica Cricket Association President Glenn Joseph also addressed the cricketers.

They are scheduled to leave the state for South Africa on January 1st.

The global event will feature 41 matches in South Africa from January 14th to January 29th. The official warm-up matches will take place from January 9th to January 11th. The 16 participating teams will compete in four groups in the qualifying rounds. The West Indies are included in Group C alongside New Zealand, Ireland and Indonesia.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the schedule for the inaugural ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup. The tournament will take place in South Africa from January 14th to January 29th, 2023.

In the group stage, four matches will be played each day. Australia and Bangladesh will play the opening match, while the UAE and Scotland will also play at the same time. India will face hosts South Africa, followed by the opening match, with Sri Lanka and the USA rounding out his first day.


16 teams will take part and 41 matches will be played in the host cities of Benoni and Potchefstroom. A full 11 squads from Australia, England, New Zealand, India, South Africa, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, West Indies, Ireland and Zimbabwe will automatically qualify for the event, with the other five teams starting in June 2022. I passed the designated regional qualifier and won the right to participate.

The United States was accredited from the Americas region as the only associate country meeting the ICC event pathway participation criteria. Scotland won the European qualifier, UAE advanced from the Asian qualifier, Indonesia won the East Asia Pacific qualifier, and Rwanda qualified from the African region to complete the roster.

Group A consists of Australia, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and the USA; Group B consists of Great Britain, Pakistan, Zimbabwe and Rwanda; and Group C consists of Ireland, Indonesia, New Zealand and the West Indies. India are in Group D alongside hosts South Africa, United Arab Emirates and Scotland.

The top three teams from every group will qualify for the Super Six Stage, where Group A teams will face Group D teams and Group B will face Group C teams. Runner-up from another group.

The semi-finals will take place on January 27th, the finals will take place on January 29th, and there will be a reserve decider date on January 30th.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *