Touchdown Club of Houston honors top players

Seth Davis became Katy’s storied program’s all-time leading rusher in the last game he played in a Tigers uniform.

For his efforts this season, the senior running back was honored as the Offensive Player of the Year by Houston’s Touchdown Club on Wednesday night at the organization’s 43rd Annual Gala at the Bayou Special Events Center. rice field.

The Mississippi State player finished his prep career with 6,691 for 2,473 yards and 34 touchdowns this season, surpassing 2015 graduate Rodney Anderson.

Other finalists for the award are Ja’Koby Banks of Fort Bend Marshall, Nick Fattig of Clear Springs, Parker Jenkins of Klein Forest, Marquis Johnson of Dickinson, Reid Mikeska of Bridgeland, Cyrin Myles of Crosby, Ashton Ojiaku of Foster, It was Kedrick Reesscano from New Caney and Kenneth Rosenthal from Lamar. Jalen Smith of Klein Kane.

Defensive Player of the Year honors went to North Shore defensive lineman Elijah Fields, who moved from the Spring before his senior season.

Fields will try to help North Shore win the Class 6A Division I State Championship on Saturday night against Duncanville. come to

Other finalists include Jaben Anderson of the North Shore, Patrick Batiste of Klein Kane, Taylor Davis of Ridge Point, Vernon Glover Jr. of Dickinson, Jonathan Hall of Katie, David Hicks Jr. of Peyto, Grayson Linsececum of Memorial and Cypress. It included Ashton Porter from Ranch, Brad Spence from Cline Forrest and Sam from Atascoshita. Taumanu Pepe.

Westfield’s Matt Meakins was named coach of the year due to the Mustangs’ leading playoff success.

Westfield finished the season with a 12-2 record, including a 7-0 mark in District 14-6A action. The Mustang beat Conroe, Klein He Collins and Waxahachie in his first three rounds of the playoffs before he lost 28–21 against nationally ranked Duncanville.

Meakins has been at the helm of the Westfield program since 2015, when he took over the reins from his brother Kobe. Since then, the Mustang has racked up his 100-18 record and his six division wins.

Other finalists include James Clancy of Klein Kane, Chris Dudley of Cinco Ranch, Rick Lafavors of Ridgepoint, Michael Lindsay of Lamarr, Jeff Miller of Cyfair, Adrian Mitchell of Klein Collins, Jim Rupp of The Woodlands and New Canny. Travis Reeve of Atascoshita, Craig Stamp of Atascoshita, and Fort. James Williams of Bend Marshall and George Young of CE King.

Several other honors were handed out at last week’s private school dinner. Kinkaid’s Micah Bell was named Offensive Player of the Year. St. Thomas’ Jack Ward won Defensive Player of the Year. Second Baptist John Deering was named Ironman of the Year. Episcopal’s Hutch Coward was honored as lineman of the year. Second Baptist Charley Schwinger was named Special Teams Player of the Year. Fort Bend Christian’s Jordan Black was named Coach of the Year after leading the Eagles to his TAPPS Division II title.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *